AMA District VIII AMA District VIII

Texas Warbirds

by Mark Johnston   October 3, 2015

On September 26th I also attended the Texas Warbirds event being held at the north Dallas RC Club. Ed Kettler was the CD of the event and had 50 pilots come out to support the event. The public and club were out in force to help and watch the event. Great weather for the event and in talking with pilots everyone had a great time.

I want to go back next year and take planes to fly. It looked like a blast!

Awards that were given are as follows.

World War I:
1. Dale O’Daniel, Fokker DR-1
2. Scott Grissman, Fokker D-VII
3. Jon Parker, Fokker Eindecker

World War II:
1. Steve Forrest, B-24
2. Steve Forrest, P-51B “Old Crow”
3. Lyle Vasser, B-25

Best Bomber: Randy Larsen, B-17

Best Postwar: Bob Mueller, PBM Mariner

Best Jet: Tom Blakeney, Sea Vixen

Best in Show: James Poole, La-7

Smokin’ Hole: Bob Hubbard, SB2C Helldiver

  picture  picture 
 All of the pilots took time for me to get a photo. Lad Doctor flew with lots of help from club members who helped design his setup 


Vice President

Lawrence Harville


Control Line
District News
Fly-In / Fun-Fly
FPV Racing
Free Flight
Last Flight
Pylon Racing
Youth Leadership
All Topics

Check Out Your AVP

Benny Behrens
Tony Breyen
Bill Holland
Johnny Hunt
Woody Lake
Jim Marshall
Stew Moore
Brian Regan
Jim Rice
Randy Ritch
Olen Rutherford
Douglas Staines
Gary Strickland
Cliff Town
Ed Valls
Jerry Walters
Bob Wilder

Email Webmaster