AMA District VIII AMA District VIII

Jetero RC - Southeast Texas Warbird Rally

by Benny Behrens   October 31, 2016

On Friday October 28 and Saturday October 29 Jetero RC Club held their annual Southeast Texas Warbird Rally. This was one outstanding event with major participation. The following is a copy of the Facebook post prepared by Michael Jackson the event CD:

The Jetero RC Club would like to thank everyone that came out and participated in the Southeast Texas Warbird Rally. Thanks to the BIG GUY for the outstanding weather that resulted in there being 61 registered pilots and a host of spectators that attended the two day event.

This event would not have been possible without our great sponsors: Samano’s Hobbies, Remote Control Hobbies Spring, Randy’s Hobbies, RC Hobby Shop, Tru-Turn, Sullivan Products, Callie Graphics, BSI, RTL Fastener, Servo City, RedWing RC, RC Fueling Systems, and Tower Hobbies. Thank you all for supporting the Jetero warbird event. Hobbyist, please continue to support your local hobby shops as they have supported us over the years.

All the pilots including the famous Texas Warbird Thunder Flying Team did a fantastic job putting on a great show for all to see. There was continuous flying during the two day event with very few mishaps. Some crazy person came up with the bright idea of doing a 15 warbird gaggle to top a 14 warbird gaggle record that was set earlier this year. Well, the record was SHATTERED with 18 warbirds flying at once with not one casualty. During the entire gaggle we rocked to AC/DC’s Thunderstruck. It was a FAST, FURIOUS, and THUNDEROUS gaggle to be a part of and witness. AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME! A big thank you to all the courageous pilots that made the record breaking gaggle a success. WOW!!!

After all of the flying on Saturday we proceeded to the award ceremony. All of the pilots had very nice planes and did a fantastic job of flying them. The judging was tough. The award winners are as follows:

Best WWI Award: went to Albert Thibodaux for his Sopwith Pup.
Best WWII Award: went to Gary Smith for his scaled out B-17 Bomber.
Best Civilian Award: went to Larry Hultman for his PT-17 Stearman.
Best Multi-Engine Award: went to Len Haroldson for his F7F Tigercat.
Fastest Warbird Award: went to Paul “Low Pass” Curry (Lower! Lower!)
Dedicated Pilot Award: went to Randy “Firewall” Lawson (You Da Man)
Best of Show: went to Deryl “Speed Fresh” Rolle (Well deserved Speed)

Congratulations guys. You did a fine job.

This year the Grand Raffle Prize was a Top Flite P-47 Razorback ARF, Robart Pneumatic retracts with a large deluxe air kit. The LUCKY WINNER was Glenn Snedden. Congratulations Glenn!

I can’t forget about the Jetero supporting staff that worked tirelessly to keep the event running like a well-oiled machine. THANK YOU for all your hard work.

In closing, this has been a long, but great year of flying. I’ve made many friends and have enjoyed the camaraderie with all that have attended the fly-ins here in Texas and Louisiana. I encourage you all to get out and support other club’s events. If you don’t fly, buy a lunch or purchase raffle tickets. Anything will help. I’ve always said, when you support another club’s event they will reciprocate and support yours. Well, I’ve been missing out on the Texas Warbird Thunder gaggles, so I gotta go do some work on the P-47. As Arnold would say. “I’LL BE BACK”

Best Regards,
Michael "Distraction" Jackson

Picture Links:
Password = Windy2016

  picture  picture 
 Pilots Meeting (additional photos available via links in text) Some of the entries (additional photos available via links in text) 


Vice President

Lawrence Harville


Control Line
District News
Fly-In / Fun-Fly
FPV Racing
Free Flight
Last Flight
Pylon Racing
Youth Leadership
All Topics

Check Out Your AVP

Benny Behrens
Tony Breyen
Bill Holland
Johnny Hunt
Woody Lake
Jim Marshall
Stew Moore
Brian Regan
Jim Rice
Randy Ritch
Olen Rutherford
Douglas Staines
Gary Strickland
Cliff Town
Ed Valls
Jerry Walters
Bob Wilder

Email Webmaster